Tutor Feedback – Assignment Four

13/07/17

Response and Reflection on Assignment Four

I have taken excerpts from my tutor’s report that reflect areas for improvement and/or suggestions for research and/or experimentation. My responses and reflections are noted beneath each.

Feedback on assignment

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Quality of Outcome, Demonstration of Creativity

  Task 1 [project 11]

“I believe you are using oil based inks, reflect further on how you are choosing colour. These inks mix well on a slab. I recommend exploring your colour choices further.”

I note that on the next project, I am asked to explore unusual combinations of colour, so it should be more at the forefront of my mind. I agree that colour has not been given enough importance in my printing so far. I need to address this more within my development and planning process.  As the simplification of shapes and images are necessary for a successful print, this then puts colour as a major component in the success of the message I am trying to convey.

TASK 2 project 12

“You really have taken on the world with this theme Gina!

You have produced technically able and well inked collagraph prints .You have a lot of pressure on these prints, I’m presuming you have access to a press. You need to set the pressure to the highest surface on your plate or board to run through the rollers. The paper is nearly ripped! You are showing very good inking skills at avoiding oozing and uneven inking.

I recommend reflecting further on how you use and mix printing ink. Oil mixes very well. I would take some more time honing your colour pallet .You have picked a vibrant and bold colour pallete. I’m unsure if this reflects the message of the work.

Language has inspired you to the make these prints I’m curious as to why you didn’t include text? Donald Trump has caused such controversy by his choice words these ‘quotes’ may have proved more powerful than being representational in your approach.”

Three points to tackle here. Firstly, the pressure used when printing. I had to smile when I read that I may have access to a press. Unfortunately, I don’t at the moment. When taking the first couple of prints, I used a combination of a clean roller and the heel of my hand to make the impression. It became obvious that I was losing a lot of the texture and ink between the collage materials and the prints were looking “empty”. From then on, I used the same as before, plus my thumbs and fingers to negotiate the lumps and bumps beneath the paper. Some aspects needed such intense pressure my hands were throbbing! It was just my sheer over enthusiastic attempts to eek out as much detail as possible that almost tore the paper. I had soaked and blotted the paper prior to printing and this helped enormously, although I realised I had to ease off a bit as it was rubbing away the damp surface.

The issue of colour again. I had actually tried to incorporate the choice of palette in the design, however, it may have missed the spot on the final image of the three in particular. I had considered more sombre colours ie greys, heavy purples and blues and these did find their way into the final print. The problem was conveying the “warming” aspect of global warming. I spent a long time looking at the different colour treatments of the prints for the final image. I think the second print may have had the right tone for the sky, in that it looks more foreboding. I rejected it because of the ridges that appeared – I think from the overly thick layers of glue on the block. I also thought the foreground was not strong enough. In the final print for the last image, I now think – with hind sight, that the yellow was too prominent and “sunny” in character. If the setting sun was more red, it would have been more dramatic and “angrier” against a darker sky. So on reflection, I had considered the colour quite a bit, but have not really made the best choices to fully illustrate the message.

The last point was regarding the omission of text. I did touch on adding it within my idea development, although, I think my main concern bubbling around in my head, was how to incorporate it within a collagraph. I tried it out in a thumbnail in my sketchbook, but it looked more like something that would work in a linocut rather than a collagraph. Maybe I should have taken up the challenge? … Why on earth did I not even think about using the man’s tweets as quotes??? I still can’t believe I missed that!

Sketchbooks

Demonstration of technical and Visual Skills, Demonstration of Creativity

”  You are using your sketchbook like it’s a really important part of your process and thinking. It’s good to see you combine text, evaluative reflection and visual ideas in this book. As you develop you may wish to build on your imagery – by this I mean work out as many methods and compositions for your concepts through experiments and drawing as you can. Reflect upon why you reject something and not other ideas.

You have a great deal of pencil drawings in this book I would vary this to include biro and fine line pens. This will give a different energy to the drawing.”

I think I am beginning to work out variations of my ideas and am more open to changing my mind and swapping ideas around and documenting it in my sketchbook, although I need to reflect more on those decisions.

I will try and use other drawing materials and not just pencil. I will need to put these out ready to hand as once I get going, I just pick up the nearest thing to draw with and that’s usually a pencil, but yes, varying line will help put life into my thoughts.

Learning Logs or Blogs/Critical essays

Context

” I spent a good while looking at your log trying to find a ‘response to tutor feedback’ section. I might have just not seen it. This may help you reflect upon what’s written and if you wish to reject or include actions in your new work. I would also look in detail at the artists recommended.

Squeak Carnwath maybe of interest to you for the way she uses objects and her approach to painting, selection and composition.

http://www.squeakcarnwath.com

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSPWbgdkqj8

The point regarding responses to tutor feedback is a very valid one. I do look at the suggestions and follow them up but am lax at documenting this. I have rectified this now by creating a Tutor Feedback – Response and Reflection tab in the menu under Printing 1 – Introduction to Printing. I have retrospectively documented responses for each assignment of this course, which incidentally has been very useful coming up to Part Five as many of the techniques will be revisited here. I will continue to add this under subsequent courses.

Squeak Carnwarth – I can see why my tutor thought this artist may interest me. Apart from the mountain of quality work spanning four decades – the use of text, the incredulity of DT being POTUS, the inspiration of song titles and lyrics and probably many more things that my initial perusal has missed. I like the return to familiar motifs and themes, the reworking and multiple layers. I will have to return to her many times I’m sure.

I enjoyed the video – I always like to see and hear artists in their studios, watching them work and hearing how they think. Very interesting to hear that she never plans her work (I’m a serial planner!), yet she won’t entertain any other method than paint. Even as she said this, a lot of the work appeared to be collage, but it is all paint!

Suggested reading/viewing

Context

“Have a look at the Guerrilla girls and how they use text and graphic imagery to discuss and protest. They also have a response to Donald Trump’s policies.

https://www.guerrillagirls.com/projects/

Barbara Kruger is a pivotal artist for combing text and image

http://www.arthistoryarchive.com/arthistory/feminist/Barbara-Kruger.html

https://www.moma.org/collection/works/64897

Guerilla Girls – Informative but extremely depressing. Things have not moved on much have they! The graffiti wall of quotes (was not aware of most of them prior) was horrific. It certainly is an eye opener and a catalyst for future themes.

Barbara Kruger – Although I understand why it was suggested I look at this artist, I found her work did not speak to me as much as I thought it would. Maybe I’m a bit “researched” out at the moment. I did save a few images to Pinterest for future viewing ie: “Your Comfort is my Silence”, “Questions” and “You Make History When You Do Business”. These provoked the most reaction in me at the time.

Pointers for the next assignment

  • Continue your development of themes and personal voice in your artwork to give meaning to your making. Keep asking yourself what am I making work about and why. You could introduce mind maps to expand you thinking.
  • Make your themes [personal voice] more overt in your log.
  • Spend some time writing up a reflection on feedback and the suggested artists .Are they of interest and why or not?
  • Use your ability to sketch to work out imagery include biro and marker pens in your line work.
  • The next assignment is combination printing with chine colle, this is a collage type process involving glue. You may find Japanese rice glue the easiest and most effective. Some of my other students have found pritt stick glue effective as well

http://intaglioprintmaker.com/shop/japanese-rice-paste-nori

I like the idea of Mind Maps – even as a finished piece.

The other points are in my mind for next time and onwards.

Leave a Reply

