Portrait: Ann’s Daughter – 19/11/15

19/11/15

Portrait: Ann’s Daughter – Single Session 09.30-12.30

I’m ashamed to say I can not, for the life of me, remember our model’s name! She is the daughter of one of our students, Ann, and is 37 weeks pregnant.  We had been told previously that our model was heavily pregnant and I was quite excited about painting her. However, I made an error of judgement regarding the size of the support, I was thinking that it is only one session and chose a small support again. This proved to be limiting as I wanted to paint at least a three-quarter figure to take advantage of the “bump”. Our model also had a striking face and was beautifully natural with strong bone structure and I was envious of others who were concentrating on the face only.  I still wanted to paint a three-quarter view but wanted to model the face too. I got to half way through the morning and at tea break time, I decided to paint over a previous painting that was 40x60cm to make a second portrait. My other struggle with the small support was that again, it was a recycled oil painting and I had used oil paint as the ground. To make the colour more opaque I had mixed in titanium white, unfortunately, this had not dried sufficiently prior to the class and was making my portrait quite chalky.

With the second painting, I just painted over the portrait from a previous week without a uniform ground. This was beginning to come on but I inevitably ran out of time. Therefore, not a successful session in outcome, but a valuable one in learning lessons for preparation and composition.

Our model at 37 weeks pregnant. Oil on board 12x14"

Our model at 37 weeks pregnant.
Oil on board
12×14″

Second painting Oil on canvas board 40x60cm

Second painting
Oil on canvas board
40x60cm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

