Still Life Colour Studies. Exercise: Colour Accuracy

01/07/15

Still Life Colour Studies

From one still life arrangement we were to complete two out of the three exercise options. I decided to choose 1) Colour Accuracy and 3) Still Life with Colour used to Evoke Mood. The option I discarded was Still Life with Complimentary Colours, the reason being that I had used this type of colour selection in some previous exercises and wanted to try something different. Having said that, my main objects were green and red in colour.

Colour Accuracy

As noted in the course materials, colour accuracy is somewhat of a misnomer as individuals perceive colour quite differently sometimes, however, we were encouraged to be as objective as we could.

Still Life Colour Studies - Tonal Sketch and Notes 6b pencil in A4 sketchbook

Still Life Colour Studies – Tonal Sketch and Notes
6b pencil in A4 sketchbook

 

Although not overly detailed, this sketch helped me with placement of the objects and tonal contrasts. I used the same sketch for both exercises. Notes made refer to both exercises.

 

 

 

 

Still Life Colour Studies - Colour Accuracy Acrylic on Cartridge Paper 28x41cm

Still Life Colour Studies – Colour Accuracy
Acrylic on Cartridge Paper
28x41cm

Assess colours against subject:

  • Does it stand out? Choosing an empty green wine bottle and an empty red wine glass against a creamy/white cloth, I feel the subject and painting are of equal prominence in colour and tone.
  • Are certain colours too vivid or not bright enough? I am pleased with the glass objects in that I feel I recreated their colours faithfully.  My main area of concern is the cloth.  It had some reflective colours from the glass objects but they were very subtle.  This subtlety was difficult to capture and I found it hard to match the shadow colours. I think I may have overused my interpretation of the colour rather than actually recreating it.
  • Is the painting lighter in tone or darker than the prevailing tones of the still life arrangement itself? The tones of the main objects are very similar to that of the painted ones. This being, I think, because of the tonal drawing I made initially. However, the dark tones I’ve put into the cloth are again a little too strong. I think I have become used to over-emphasising darks for 3D effect – is this wrong??

 

Leave a Reply

