Exercise: Still Life with Flowers

11/06/15

Still Life with Flowers

Set up  a still life with flowers that can remain in place for a day or two… Notice the outlines around and between things – the negative shapes… working in your sketchbook on simple drawings that help you decide format, composition, tonal values, colours, scale.

With my colour mixing experiments fresh in my mind I selected a few flowers for my arrangement, violet/purple aliums (not so simple on closer inspection!), vibrant orange lilies and smaller delicate daisy type flowers.  They were put directly into a vase, still in their brown paper wrapping while I organised myself. I thought the wrapping gave a nice, neutral back drop to the bright colours and thought I’d include it in a couple of my preparatory sketches.

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 1, pencil and Sharpie pens

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 1, pencil and Sharpie pens

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 2, pencil and Sharpie pens

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 2, pencil and Sharpie pens

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 3, pencil, pastel and coloured pencils

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 3, pencil, pastel and coloured pencils

12/06/15

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 4, pencil and acrylic paint

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 4, pencil and acrylic paint

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 5, pencil, coloured pencils and Sharpie pen

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 5, pencil, coloured pencils and Sharpie pen

13/06/15

Still life with flowers: Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods. Drawing 6, acrylic inks and some later pigment liners (water soluble)

Still life with flowers:
Preparatory drawing with notes on decisions and working methods.
Drawing 6, acrylic inks and some later pigment liners (water-soluble)

I began my painting by stretching some heavy weight hot pressed watercolour paper and using wet in wet acrylic inks laid in the basic shapes, colours and positions of the main flowers. I was happily working away and was pleased with the balance of control and letting the inks do their own thing. The below photograph shows the work in progress up where I finished for the day. I was unable to work on it for a couple of days but kept popping back up to look at it for ideas. See notes in sketchbook in next photograph.

Still life with flowers: Final painting WIP

Still life with flowers:
Final painting WIP

16/06/15

Still life with flowers: Final painting WIP, Sketchbook reflection on work in progress and final experiments and decisions.

Still life with flowers:
Final painting WIP, Sketchbook reflection on work in progress and final experiments and decisions.

17/06/15

Although, I may not have gone as far as I was envisaging from my sketchbook reflection, I did feel I made the final painting more dynamic than where it was originally heading. Unfortunately, the photographs do not show the brightness of the pinks as they are in real life.

Still life with flowers: Final painting Acrylic ink and paint on watercolour paper. 36x32cm

Still life with flowers: Final painting Acrylic ink and paint on watercolour paper. 36x32cm

 

6 thoughts on “Exercise: Still Life with Flowers

  1. Yes fantastic colours here Gina, and really like the teapot work too. How are you getting on with Painting 1? I see perspective rears it’s head again… Yolks…

    Like

    • Thanks Eve – yes those pesky vanishing points!!!! I’m a bit behind as trying to do too much but a bit of guidance from tutor has put me straight! How are you getting on – haven’t had a chance to catch up with other people’s blogs argh!

      Like

      • I’m quite behind too, I struggle to get to my sketch book at the moment… I must though my deadline is approaching fast!
        Keep up the great work!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

