Exercise: Broken or Tertiary Colours

22/04/15

Broken or Tertiary Colours

Make a scale between an orange red and a green blue. Try to maintain consistent tonal values across the scale by adding a little white, as in previous exercise.

Broken or Tertiary Colours Orange Red to Green Blue Acrylic paint on neutral grey ground.

Broken or Tertiary Colours
Orange Red to Green Blue
Acrylic paint on neutral grey ground.

I began this exercise with enthusiasm but also a low supply of ultramarine blue. As I progressed along the scale, which appeared to be going well (still in the reds) I ran out of ultramarine completely.  Never fear I thought, I have a student quality Cobalt Blue, which, as previously covered was not Cobalt Blue PB28 but a mix of Ultramarine PB29 and Titanium White PW6, as I had to add a little white to maintain tone it seemed logical that this would be a good substitute for the Ultramarine.  As I carried on, I was perturbed to find that instead of grey, my mixes were appearing more green.  As I stared at the mixes both on the palette and on the grey ground I glanced at the tube of blue paint I had been using – Coeruleum Blue, (PB15,3/PW5/PY184) with a yellow pigment as Bismuth Vanadate Yellow that explains why I was getting more green than blue. An irritating mistake but I am pleased I know where I went wrong and can redo the process when I have new supplies.

More to come…

29/04/15

A little break away and then returned to this exercise using the correct blue this time.

Broken or Tertiary Colours Orange Red to Green Blue and Orange to Violet Acrylic paint on neutral grey ground  2nd attempt

Broken or Tertiary Colours
Orange Red to Green Blue
and
Orange to Violet
Acrylic paint on neutral grey ground
2nd attempt

This entire exercise was a revelation demonstrating the range of colours that may be mixed from the primaries to make secondary, and subsequently, creating tertiary colours.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

