Exercise: Composition

03/11/14

Exercise: Composition

Exercise: Composition Study 1 - Landscape Orientation Looking North Study 2 - Portrait Orientation Looking North Water-soluble Graphite Stick (plus pen on study 1)

Exercise: Composition
Study 1 – Landscape Orientation Looking North
Study 2 – Portrait Orientation Looking North
Water-soluble Graphite Stick (plus pen on study 1)

Notes:  Having already explored a portrait orientation for my view, I may struggle to incorporate all the “required” elements.  It was good to explore the landscape possibility too.  This may, however, include too much.  With the portrait version, I have to be careful not to give the tree too much prominence and move it away from the central position it occupies here.

Exercise: Composition Study 3 - Portrait Orientation Looking South Study 4 - Landscape Orientation Looking South Water-soluble Graphite Stick

Exercise: Composition
Study 3 – Portrait Orientation Looking South
Study 4 – Landscape Orientation Looking South
Water-soluble Graphite Stick

I still haven’t quite let go of the possibility of using the South view for my final assignment work.  As I was unhappy about including the mill houses in the background, and I had already decided to zoom in on the sluice gates in the North view, I thought I should do that with this one too – just to be sure.  My notes are written at the time of drawing and are interesting to compare with my table of assessments against considered criteria a while later – see below.

Exercise: Composition Study 5 - Portrait Orientation Looking North Water-soluble Graphite Stick

Exercise: Composition
Study 5 – Portrait Orientation Looking North
Water-soluble Graphite Stick

Not entirely satisfied with the variety of composition studies so returned to the North facing view and zoomed in even more.  The tree is less centre stage and the mix of horizontal, vertical and diagonal lines are more interesting.  The criteria I felt were important to me are listed and have been incorporated into the upcoming table, checking each composition against each point.

 

Atmosphere & Appeal Opportunities for Media Effects Representational or Abstract Perspective – Aerial and/or Linear
Study 1 Traditional not overly appealing Features may be too small to work on the iron rust etc Too representational – boring Good for perspective, both aerial and linear
Study 2 Middle ground could be atmospheric, has more appeal as more focussed on subject Able to use effects in wooded area, plus some on sluice gate features Quite design led – abstraction could come from the media effects Linear and aerial perspective
Study 3 Atmosphere low, although subject does have appeal for me Success would be purely down to media handling Definite abstract possibilities Linea only – not a bad thing but may be better to illustrate both
Study 4 As Study 3 Opportunity for effects but think a flat approach may be better Definitely abstract – from a distance this looks an interesting design – a completely different direction Linear only
Study 5 Both – softening of hard structure with mid and back ground trees Opportunity for effects to show textures etc An element of both – the patterns, shapes and lines of the interest have shifted to the right Both incorporated but to a lesser degree – yet doesn’t detract from the view

This was a good process to go through – I left it over lunch to be able to come back with fresh eyes and stood my sketchbook up on an easel to view from a distance.  This clarified the whole effect of each study – taking each in turn and applied my assessment of my criteria.

Conclusion

My favourites were between studies 4 and 5 much to my surprise.

Study 4:  An interesting composition for abstract treatment.  Something I could revisit but for this assignment, I’m thinking it could all be too new and would not demonstrate what I have learnt over the duration of the course.  I will, however, have these sketches and studies in my sketchbook, should I want to develop this further.

Study 5:  This has all the elements that would show progress and learning eg:

  • observation
  • mark making
  • perspectives
  • atmosphere
  • composition

I think that this study, compared with number 2, which is similar, has shifted its focal point to the right hand side with interesting shapes.  It is simplified with less elements ie no water to speak of, less vegetation but enough to soften the overall composition.  Some interesting effects clan be added for textures without throwing the “kitchen sink” at it and making the overall result incoherent.  I hope this will produce a pleasing, interesting and engaging take on the subject I’ve studied a lot over the last couple of weeks.

 

3 thoughts on “Exercise: Composition

  1. Hi Gina. Like your choice – study 5 is my favourite! And although the water element is small, it’s definitely still there, and adds interest. Lots of scope for interesting textures and maybe abstract approaches too. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

