Assignment Four: Part Two: Tone

Preparatory Work 07/10/14

Assignment 4 Tone Composition and Pose

Assignment 4
Tone
Composition and Pose

Assignment 4 Tone Composition and Pose

Assignment 4
Tone
Composition and Pose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Assignment 4 Tone Composition and Pose

Assignment 4
Tone
Composition and Pose

Assignment 4 Tone Media and Drawing Tools

Assignment 4
Tone
Media and Drawing Tools

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As before, I have had to take photographs for this drawing.

We were asked to produce a reclining pose, paying particular attention to tone and to focus on the pictorial qualities, making the background as important as the figure.

I decided to wait for the evening so artificial light could be used to throw shadows and produce more tonal contrast.  I used only the lighting available in the room ie an adjustable standard lamp and the secondary light source from the TV screen in the opposite corner.  I took photos from many different view points and angles to try to help build the structure and three-dimensional aspect in my mind.  The background was definite but not overwhelming, I omitted a large pot plant behind the figure as I decided there was enough to make an interesting image without it and I didn’t want it to look overcrowded.

I made a few sketches to establish the composition.  I particularly like a sketch taken from behind the model looking down on his head and along the length of the sofa he was lying on.  However, the light source did bleach out a lot of the tonal contrast.  I decided on the first sketch for the composition due to more tone being evident.

I was  determined not to use the photographs at all in the final piece of work.  This was to test myself in the following ways:

  1. Did the sketch have enough information eg tone, structure and background?  (This was a failing in a previous section “Drawing Outdoors”).
  2. Could I use my memory of previous numerous drawings of the same model together with these sketches to achieve a likeness? (As in the exercise “Portrait from Memory”).
  3. Could I translate the tonal sketch into a colour study? (Something that I have previously struggled with).
  4. As this was to be a drawing incorporating the background to explore pictorial possibilities, could I achieve realistic and accurate perspective in the drawing? (Again a struggle in the previous section “Drawing Outdoors”).

09/10/14

Assignment 4 Tone Final Drawing 50x65cm Pastel and Coloured Pencil

Assignment 4
Tone
Final Drawing 50x65cm
Pastel and Coloured Pencil

Results:

  1. As I had simplified the tonal ranges in the sketch from which I was working,  it was much clearer where light and dark occurred.  I also, in the final drawing, sketched out the entire image in black conte stick and then hatched in the same dark tones in a dark blue pastel before blocking in with colour.  this again described the darks clearly before working in to them. (Note to self: Must take more work in progress photos as this was a particularly interesting and new way of working for me).
  2. The sketches were a good starting point for achieving a likeness.  As the drawing neared completion, I was drawn to the face and was not happy with it.  A few adjustments with coloured pencils and a basic likeness appeared with which I was satisfied.
  3. As the sketch had clear definition and the tonal under-painting was in place, I did not consciously consider the problems I had had translating tone to colour previously.  The precautions I had taken initially made it a natural process.  I couldn’t have been more pleased at this result at this stage in my progress.
  4. The perspective element is something I need to keep working on so I tried not shy away from it in the final drawing.  The aerial perspective seems to have been successful with background objects being described subtly, however, I am still unsure about the sofa.  I can not blame the source photograph as the sketch was in proportion.  I think that as I was working on a larger sheet of paper with slightly different ratio of width to length, that I overcompensated and made the sofa appear too long.  I’m not sure – I need a neutral point of view to case an eye over it I think.

Overall

I think that the sketch works slightly better proportionally than the final drawing.  However, tonally I am very happy with the outcome.  I enjoyed exploring another process by marking in the tones first in one colour as an under-painting, especially as it seems to have worked.  Another note to self: if unsure whether something has worked – it probably hasn’t!

 

Leave a Reply

