Project: The Moving Figure – Check and Log

26/09/14

Check & Log

  • How well did you manage to create the sense of a fleeting moment rather than a pose?

For the Fleeting Moments exercise, I went along to a local Carnival – there were many people there of all shapes, sizes and ages – some static and some very animated, particularly the little children and street entertainers.  For a fleeting moment, I had to be drawn to something very quickly, sometimes I only had a flashed glimpse of something through the crowd – two moments were very vivid in my memory in particular,

the “genie” walking by balancing a crystal ball on his head – I really only just caught sight of him in my peripheral vision – I almost believed I had imagined it. So it really was just an extremely quick impression of him.

the hair bunches of a little girl being held up by her dad – that’s all I saw initially in tiny gap in the crowd and every now and then I could see more of her as people around her moved and I continued drawing.

Some of my studies were more descriptive than others, however, the atmosphere was so joyful and fun with excited children all around me, that it rubbed off and my adrenalin was high which made me work quickly and without too much consideration for any real accuracy.  However, this seemed to work in my favour and often resulted in capturing the mood and general figures.  The drawings are much more lively than static long poses, which give more time to consider, ponder and re-work for accuracy.

  • How successful were your attempts to retain an image and draw later?

I suppose this depends on the definition of successful in this instance.  Is it measured by accuracy, catching the atmosphere or general “action” of the scene?  I think realistically, unless one is in possession of a photographic type memory, it’s a combination/compromise of all three.  I think the tendency is to overly try for accuracy as the time limitation is less after the event, and the spontaneity may easily be lost as a result.  After the two exercises Sitting and Waiting and Fleeting Moments, my memory of a scene was heightened because of the emotional experience and attachment of actually being there.  If I could relate to or gain something from a memorised image it was easier to recall to draw.

  • Were you able to keep to a few descriptive lines to suggest the person’s movement or were you tempted to keep introducing more elements into your work?

I suppose the honest answer is a little of both.  However, I only seemed to continue working on a study until the next opportunity presented itself and I just moved on, so as long as I had continual visual stimulation I could be succinct with my mark making.

Leave a Reply

