Supplementary Material – Part 4 Drawing Figures

18/09/14

Portrait Class

First lesson in the new term of our Portrait Class.  As usual at the beginning of a term, we produced drawings rather than paintings, the theme for the morning was “body language”.  This fitted in really well with the “The Moving Figure” project I was in the middle of doing.  Trying to convey a person’s mood by capturing the stance, attitude and body language of the pose.  David our model was instructed to playact a variety of moods and emotions by his body language and pose.

Portrait Class 18/09/14 Studies in Watersoluble Pen on A2 paper

Portrait Class 18/09/14
Studies in Watersoluble Pen on A2 paper

These were 5-7 minutes long so we had to work quickly at getting down the salient points of his mood.  The standing pose was the least successful for me, although he looks like he’s waiting around, I made him far too upright. Again, as many times before, this may have been as it was the first drawing and I hadn’t loosened up. The second pose was supposed to be “arrogance”, this I could have pushed further.  The last pose being “dejection” was nearer the mark, his shoulders are slumped and his hands hanging loose as was his head hanging in despair.

 

 

Portrait Class 18/09/14 Study in Pencil on A2 paper

Portrait Class 18/09/14
Study in Pencil on A2 paper

 

A relaxed “on holiday” feel to this pose, I was obviously starting to warm up finally, as this one is more successful.  I can imagine an entire composition around this pose. (23 minutes).

 

 

 

 

 

Portrait Class 18/09/14 Studies in Pencil on A2 paper

Portrait Class 18/09/14
Studies in Pencil on A2 paper

Two studies of the upper half of the body only, so in larger scale. I can’t actually remember the instruction to the model on the first one, but he does look pensive in my drawing, so we’ll go with that.  Ran out of time to elaborate on the full pose but managed to concentrate on the face.  The second pose proved more of a challenge by incorporating the hands cupping the face.  It seemed to be more important to get the positioning correct and this took most of the time allowed. Although you do get a sense of someone being fed up even with the lack of detail. (10-15 minutes each).

 

Portrait Class 18/09/14 Study in Charcoal and Pencil on A2 paper

Portrait Class 18/09/14
Study in Charcoal and Pencil on A2 paper

 

The final pose scenario is noted on the drawing.  As I attempted to switch media again, I sabotaged myself as I couldn’t get a satisfactory result with the charcoal and time was running out.  Therefore, I switched back to pencil as it was working better for me at the time.  A bit of a panicky result but in retrospect, maybe the basic information was there if not the detail.

 

 

 

Overall, this was a very helpful session with regard to this section of the course and allowed a little more time to work into the drawings which was nice after the previous day’s exercise of “Sitting and Waiting” and quick sketches.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Supplementary Material – Part 4 Drawing Figures

  1. Funnily enough, Mike and I had been discussing your course materials in the break and how the rewritten Drawing course is very focussed on emotion within the work and that that is the element I struggle with. Subconsicously, I began scribbling away with the pen very loosely and then introduced the conte sticks and just let it happen – maybe something got through! It’s not overly accurate but at the group critique afterwards, several people said how lively it was – a bit of a lesson there I think.

    Like

  2. I like the last drawing especially, there’s a thoughtfulness about his expression. I like the idea of focussing on mood, body language and emotion in figure drawing. Something I haven’t done yet…

    Like

Leave a Reply

