Project: Self Portrait – Exercise: Drawing Your Face

13/08/14

Exercise: Drawing Your Face

Look at yourself in the mirror and, using your sketchbook draw several five-minute sketches of our face describing different angles of your face and head.

Exercise: Drawing Your Face

Exercise: Drawing Your Face
8B Pencil – 5 minutes
Straight on view

Exercise: Drawing Your Face 8B Pencil - 5 minutes

Exercise: Drawing Your Face
8B Pencil – 5 minutes
Skewed three-quarter view

All the facial sketches are on A4 paper in my sketchbook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Exercise: Drawing Your Face 8B Pencil - 5 minutes

Exercise: Drawing Your Face
8B Pencil – 5 minutes
Head tilted up, looking down

Exercise: Drawing Your Face 8B Pencil - 5 minutes

Exercise: Drawing Your Face
8B Pencil – 5 minutes
Three Quarter View

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Exercise: Drawing Your Face 8B Pencil - 5 minutes

Exercise: Drawing Your Face
8B Pencil – 5 minutes Head tilted down and looking up

Draw five more quick sketches concentrating on the overall shape of the head without the neck.  Decide what basic shape it might represent and draw the shape across the page until you think the shape has a sense of rightness.

Depicting the Shape of my Head

Depicting the Shape of my Head

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For both of these one page studies I tied my hair back out of the way so I could really see the shapes of both head and neck.

Draw the shape of your neck repeatedly in your sketchbook.

Depicting the shape of my neck

Depicting the shape of my neck

Notes made on this page relating to the accepted proportional positioning of facial features:

“Tested my facial proportions against those outlined on page 128 of the course notes.

Noted: top forehead/hair-line to centre of eyes does not equate to the halfway point of my face, mine = halfway down my nose.
My ears span the bottom of my eyes to the top of my mouth.

These proportions are approximate not set in stone but the landmarks are useful to judge against one another.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Project: Self Portrait – Exercise: Drawing Your Face

    • Yes it’s good to be working together albeit virtually. I had one go at the self portrait and it looked more like Martina Navratilova – and I don’t! I’ll have another go this week. :0)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

