Project: Landscape Drawing – Check and Log

02/06/14

Check & Log

  • In what way did you simplify and select in your study? Were you able to focus on simple shapes and patterns amid all the visual information available to you?
360 degree studies

Project: Landscape Drawing
Exercise: 360 Degree Studies
Location: Hengistbury Head, Dorset

Drawings made in the Exercises: Sketchbook Walk and 360 Degree Studies, were made easier to simplify by using the view finder. It not only helped frame the scene in front of me, it also gave me markers for where elements needed to fit onto the paper around the edges, I then had points to refer and relate to for the entire content of the image.  For selecting which of the 360 degree studies to develop further in a larger study, I found that by putting all the sketches on one large piece of paper, I could judge my choice more easily. I could see the composition most suited to illustrate the three main sections of the image, back, middle and foreground. The bottom two sketches had more depth and interest, with the last one having simple shapes to develop leading from near to far.

  • How did you create a sense of distance and form in your sketches?

I tried to use the whole scene’s sense of perspective ie not only the more obvious subjects in the landscape but the sky as well.  This helped enormously as I was having difficulty with the media I’d chosen to use (conte sticks in black, grey and white) in knocking back the tone in the distance. In retrospect I think I was more successful in creating the atmosphere rather than specific forms, particularly as I got colder and worked quicker and with less detail.

  • How did you use light and shade? Was it successful?

As mentioned above, the conte sticks being fairly hard in texture, I struggled with tonal ranges, particularly with the distance – I was aware that the distant objects should be lighter in tone and tried over-hatching with light shades with a limited degree of success.  Consquently, in theory, I knew I should darken the foreground as a foil to the distance, again with limited success. Yes I should have used charcoal, but I will learn from my mistaken choices.

  • What additional preliminary work would have been helpful towards the larger study?
  1. Considering which sketch was to be developed whilst I was on site.
  2. Sketching the same scene again a few times with each drawing focussing on different aspects. ie it would have been helpful to have information specifically for:
    1. Perspective of the manmade features (beach huts)
    2. A more detailed study of the natural formation of the sand dunes
    3. Study of the textures within the foreground
    4. A basic simple tonal representation of shapes
Project: Landscape Drawing Exercise: Plotting Space Through Composition and Structure

Project: Landscape Drawing
Exercise: Plotting Space Through Composition and Structure
Graphite and water soluble graphite pencils on paper

Instead I had a great “impression” of the scene and could remember the feeling and atmosphere of being there with the sounds and smells of the sea. This in itself was a step forward, however, I need to be able to develop these impressions and stay true to them rather than dilute with over work, which is what I think I did in the end.

Leave a Reply

